Courage

Where do you go to be brave? Is it your home? The gym? Your journal? Where is the place you are bravest? When are the times you are the most brave?


Courage is not the absence of fear, but rather the judgement that something else is more important than fear.  ~Ambrose Redmoon

I find that to be brave, I have to go within. Fear sneaks up on us in the most inconvenient times and places, and you are often not left with an option to lie low before taking the necessary action. I think the key to dealing with fear, head on, is to take stock of the situation at hand. It is very easy to react from a place of pain or fright, but you are not likely to make a good decision from there.

For day to day worries, I try to stop and ask myself, how am I right now, in this present moment? 99 times out of a hundred, I am probably doing OK. But for when there is a real situation to contend with, then I do my best to check my priorities. What is the inherent risk involved? And perhaps more importantly, what is the value or need for seeing the deed through? If it is something that really matters, then take a leap of faith. In difficult situations, you often only need to find your resolve and take that first step. Once the universe understands that you are game, the details will often unfold quite naturally.

Leave a comment