(Turn and face the strain)

You need to make a major change in your life. Do you make it all at once, cold turkey style, or incrementally?

I don’t think a major change can be made cold turkey. Even if you do say “I’m gonna change, right…now!” Sure you make that decision, but it then becomes a decision that must be made again and again, in a variety of ways, each time you are brought face to face with a situation where that old habit might arise. Mindfulness and dedication are required to fully embrace a true change in one’s life.

I am changing rooms in my house, which might not seem like a big thing, but there are hundreds of little implications involved. Aside from just pushing myself to keep moving my stuff, and cleaning my messes as I go, (all of those forgotten items on the back of shelves, piles of dust under the rug, and you would not even believe the vast sea of dog-fur that has accumulated under the bed) – there are also the intangibles.

I love my space I have been living in, it is comfy here and has been my home for almost two years now. I will miss the view, the warmth of being on the top floor (the basement is much chillier!) and various other personal elements that I won’t get into here.

But you do what must be done, even if it is not a life or death “need” we do what is necessary to grow and progress through our lives.

Mature Wisdom

  • “The test of how far your wisdom has matured lies in the strategic skill with which you can keep yourself from doing things that you like to do but that would cause long-term harm, and the skill with which you can talk yourself into doing things that you don’t like to do but that would lead to long-term well-being and happiness. In other words, mature wisdom requires a mature ego.”

    Daily Dharma for January 31, 2013
    Thanissaro Bhikkhu
Leave a Reply

