Identify

How do you define your own identity?

We are all born into cultures, families and communities with certain values we naturally inherit. But in order to figure out who we are, we have to revisit those inherited values, and decide for ourselves what to believe, or what to value. Simply believing something because our parents or teachers did assumes they were right, and if they made the same assumption about their parent’s and teachers, when exactly did someone sit down and consider the alternatives?

How can a person define their own identity? Is it good to do this? Why or why not?

My identity is kind of up in the air right now, which isn’t necessarily a bad thing…

I usually identify who I am, largely, through my job – which is something that was instilled to me through my father. But right now I have no job, which you think would open up a bunch of time for me, but it seems that I am just as busy as ever, just taking care of this crazy old house, and also looking after Daisy, my boyfriend’s daughter. We only have her a few days a week, but caring for a three year-old can be quite exhausting, especially if it isn’t something you are used to doing.

So now I have become something of an illegitimate housewife! My main fear with this is when I do have to get back to work, how will I ever have time for anything? I know that millions of people do it – raise kids while working their tails off, but it baffles my mind, how they manage to get it all done.

But I do think it’s good to stop and reevaluate from time to time. A human is not an isolated system. We are all integrated to the people we know, and to our surroundings. It doesn’t matter if you put much stock in anything apocalyptic or the dawning of any new astrological age, it is still plain to see that the world is rapidly changing, & as a species, we will have to be ready to change along with it.

It’s scary, but also quite exiting. How much does one’s sense of identity limit one’s experiences? Especially if your main premise is your job? It can be terrifying to loose a job, not just because of the loss of income, but also that sense of what you do every day, & what your priorities are…

What if you just has to survive, with out the security of some backing company or other? Or on the other hand, what if you could just live – and do as you pleased? I think most folks would be just as baffled in either scenario – and I am no exception.

 

Leave a Reply

