The Day of the Turkey

Happy Thanksgiving! I am feeling very grateful today, and decided that would be the best topic to go on – so here we go…

I am very grateful to live in this beautiful place, where I can sit, nice and warm and watch the weather roll up the Gastineau Channel. I am very grateful for my wonderful boyfriend, who is loving and kind and funny as hell – even if I don’t get to be with him as much as I would like, because he is always working. Oh, look – there he goes now…back to work.

He should be done at 8 (as long as the lady scheduled after him doesn’t flaaaake out!) and then we will all have dinner (“all” being he and I and our housemate – not quite a big family gathering, but it will still be nice). I have a turkey recipe lined up – but don’t have to get the bird going till 3, since we are eating so late! & we will have all the traditionals; mashed potatoes, stuffing and gravy, green bean casserole and yams – yum! And then pecan pie, if I can pull it off, it’s been a few years – as it had been since I’d made a strawberry rhubarb pie, which turned out delightfully well…

I am grateful to be inspired to cook once more, and I am grateful that all my chores are done, so I can have this glass of port for lunch 🙂

Mmmm, that’s nice.

Thanks and blessings to all!

Leave a Reply

