My Name

If you had to change your first name, what would you change it to?

Do you feel like your name matches your personality? If not, what first name would better match who you are?

My first name is Rya, my middle name is Anne. If I had to change my name, I would make it Rya Anne, like my aunt, who’s first name is Ruth Ann – and then I would just have people call me Rya, as folks mostly call my aunt Ruth.

My name is quite unique, and it has given me plenty of trouble over the years. It is a rare person that will pronounce it correctly on the first try, and I often don’t even bother correcting them, unless I intend to get to know them better.

But I really wouldn’t have it any other way. I love all of the symbolism of my name, and all of the ties it has back to Sweden, where my grandfather was born. Rya is a town, a river, and a certain kind of sheep, which grows high-quality wool – & then even the rugs that are woven from that wool are called rya rugs. I would like to go to Sweden and get one of my own, someday.

Leave a Reply

