When to Walk Away, & When to Run

How do you know when to hold ’em, and when to fold ’em?

Nice, that is one of my favorite sayings, er songs…both, really. Despite the fact that I’m really not much of a gambler – but I think the notion applies to other matters as well. I guess everything in life is something of a gamble, in the end – but I do like to make my choices as rationally as possible. Or in other words, I check the odds – and weigh them against the wager.

From there on, I really think that most things in life come down to simple gumption. Like my Dad likes to say…”What do you want, and what are you willing to do for it?” If you are committed to a cause, whether it is great or small, noble or selfish – in committing your time and energies to it, you will benefit that cause.

If I stand to loose more than I can afford, and the odds are poor, I will fold…but I find that in life-situations, you have a lot more options available than there are within a hand of Texas Hold ‘Em…

Leave a Reply

