L’esprit de L’escalier

We all have experiences where after we leave a conversation, or a date ends, we realize something clever we wish we had said.

The French call this l’esprit de l’escalier, which means, roughly, staircase wit (as in, you get the idea for something to say only when you are in the staircase, heading home).

Can you recall moments in your life, at work or at home, where you realize now there was something else you wish you had said? Or done? Make a list.

I have certainly had that experience, many times. But in retrospect, there is nothing profound that comes to mind, that I still wish I had said or done.

That may sound like a bit of a cop-out, but I think that letting things go is actually one of my greater coping skills. I often beat myself up a bit – or just feel embarrassed about my behavior quite often. & so the fact that in a weeks time, the point will most likely have become moot, is something of a blessing.

Leave a Reply

