Tools of the Trade

Does technology help you write?

One comical thing about writers and writing is they often ask each other if there is a secret tool, or software, they use that makes writing easier. Some writers swear by a particular tool, or keyboard, or special software (or WordPress plugin), while others see tools as ways to help with scheduling, or writing related tasks, but see the process of writing simply about putting their but in the chair.

Now that you’ve been writing for awhile, does technology help or not help you in the writing process? What do you wish a tool like WordPress could do to help?

I think that WordPress has helped me immensely with my writing, just by keeping me going… Before I found this site, I also enjoyed writing in other blogs as well, which I think has helped me to develop more of a public voice (not to say that voice is such a refined product, even now).

But my trouble does not come so much from sitting down and writing (or typing, as the case may be), but I have more of an issue with organization. I am trying to work on my cookbook, a project that has been in the works since “04 or “05. I have many pages written, and the bulk of the recipes collected, but I have not touched the manuscript for months now, and made no significant changes for years.

Only in the past day or two do I feel caught up enough with my life to even begin to broach the subject, and today has been my most blatant day of procrastination. And it’s funny to me, because I don’t have writer’s block, as much as I have cook’s block! So if WordPress has a tool that will clean and organize my kitchen, that would be rad…

But on a more serious note, I do think that a new approach for organization might be appropriate, especially now that technology is such an integral part of writing. Organizing and tracking a manuscript with a word processing program, or even online, is a whole other animal than the paper and ink relics of yore! I’ll get back to you if I hatch any new ideas on the matter – till then, I guess it’s back to solitaire…

Leave a Reply

