School

If you could change how schools work, what would you change? What is wrong with how public education for kids is structured? What works well? What specific things about school do you remember, good and bad?

The California public school system really didn’t work all to well for me. & then when I tried college, that was kind of a bust as well. There is something about the overall structure that just never sat right with me.

Or perhaps I’m just too anti-social? I didn’t mind the classes, and liked most of my teachers very well, but all those other kids…ugh. Heh heh, just kidding, kind of – they were all good kids too, but as soon as that bell rang and class let out, I felt like I had been left to the wolves. I just never fit in, not at any of the dozen or so schools I attended.

Looking back, it seems to me that a good deal of public schooling is simply social conditioning, and I feel that there is something amiss in the general philosophy. Still can’t quite put my finger on it.

And of course, a major flaw with public schools in America is probably linked to the insultingly low wages that public school teachers are paid – I mean these people are essentially raising the children of America, for a wage that is not too far over the poverty line. What gives?

And finally, after I did eventually drop out, I took the California High School Proficiency Exam, the instructor for the couse told us it would take about 3 hours to complete, I was done in a little over 30 minutes, and sat there for another 5, wondering if I was missing something…

I write fast, so I blew through the essay quite quickly, which I believe is the reason for my time… but I remember all the other kids saw me get up and hand my packet in, and they were all like “whoa…what?” (see, can you tell I’m Cali schooled? “they were all like…whatev’s…”).

Point being, if that packet is the expected body of knowledge for kids to culminate in the years of K-12, than we’ve got some more work to do!

Leave a Reply

