Sick trip

Can you recall a time when you went on a big trip, but got sick? What did you do? Did you try to rest and improve your health, or did you stubbornly push on and fought to make the most of it?

Well, I don’t travel as much as many of my peers. My adventures have been limited to North America, and during these travels I have thrown-up on an Amtrak train, gotten bronchitis in beautiful Santa Barbara, eaten too much cheese in Wisconsin, and caught many a cold in Alaska.

Nothing too serious, no Montezuma’s Revenge or anything of that caliber. All the same, I do try to give my body as much respect as possible. I feel that a cold is the body’s way of telling you to slow the hell down, so a little rest and lots of liquids tends to get me through most maladies – thankfully, since I have no health insurance!

I’m sure that if there was an event or appointment that was very important, I would pop some aspirin or alka-seltzer and try to muddle through, but most of my trips have been leisurely enough that I have been able to take a day or two in bed…except that case of bronchitis, had to head home from S.B. to recover from that one. But I still spent two days in bed drinking codeine-cough syrup and watching Mulan over & over & over…before I drove myself home.

 

 

Leave a Reply

