Red Pill!

If given the choice, are you the kind of person who takes the red pill, or the blue pill? Why? When do you willfully do the opposite?

“You take the blue pill – the story ends, you wake up in your bed and believe whatever you want to believe. You take the red pill – you stay in Wonderland and I show you how deep the rabbit-hole goes.” -Morpheus (from the film The Matrix)

& again, the timing here, between a post topic and my life, is strangely apt… If it makes me sound like a geek to be making personal comparisons between Neo and myself – so be it! It’s totally true (that I’m a geek, that is).

I am kind of overwhelmed today… just back from a really amazing trip to Alaska, and my entire life is on the edge of changing because of it. I am officially giving my notice at work today. I am putting in two more months, instead of just two weeks, because I have a lot of responsibilities, and need to train some cats to fill in while I’m gone (& we all know how easy cat-training is…).

But this is it…really, this is what I have been waiting for and it is time to go! & there are so many reasons why this is all very scary and daunting. I am letting go of a good job and the bulk of my sense of security that I’ve been working on for the past however many years. But the fears and doubts whiz by, and left beneath is a sense of confidence, and happiness…I’ll even go so far as to steal “Bama’s past campaign slogan: Hope and Change, baby!

But it think that is what it really takes, at this juncture. Of course I am doing my best to be levelheaded and I have taken some time to weigh my options – and my conclusion is that this is what I want, and that this is what is right! And that you can’t reason out every little twist in the road. Sometimes you just have to make your call, and take that leap of faith!

So there it is, public announcement, I’m getting the heck outta dodge…if anyone needs me, I’ll be in Juneau, Alaska, with Sam, Daisy and Tenner, and soon to join the party is Mu! We are gonna cook a bunch of food, and fix up a pretty little room for Daisy by winter time.

So welcome to the Rabbit Hole, and don’t ferget yer party dress!

P.S. I have been on the blue pill for years now 🙂 Time to get up…

 

Leave a Reply

