Writer

If you could have any job in the world, what would it be?

Ah, you are so timely, my darling WordPress, with your topics of the day…

I was just thinking this morning, of my true aspirations, to fend off the depression of my ongoing tax woes. I have calculated that if I cannot clear up this latest development in IRS mayhem, that I will be paying them $135 a month until I am 42.

That, my friends, is depressing.

But my salvation from such a notion is that I really love this house that I now live in. Today, I outlined in the snow, the property line as described by Google Maps (for some reason they have all the property lines shown for Placer County, but not for Nevada County, so there) in the snow. If I bought this house, and put up a fence around the back yard, it would be a huge space – plenty of room for Mu to run, a hot tub, a green house, and some other garden-y type stuff. Oh, and a deck.

But out front there is a really big yard as well, which historically, has been a showcase for native wildflowers. This is a tradition that I intend to uphold, and expand upon by adding native trees and shrubs, and ground cover. So the front yard will be mostly ornamental, with a picnic area, and the backyard will be more of a private sanctuary. But the main attribute of the front yard, that seems to have soul redeeming qualities, is that I plan to line this front perimeter along the road – with aspen, & an occasional cottonwood or fir tree. When I really get down & out, I can quite literally see and hear these trees, with a gentile breeze passing through them.

I can’t tell you how important this has been to the continued strength of my sanity!

But back to work. I love this new kitchen (the Crescent Cafe, at New Moon!), it holds so much potential and promise, and it could come to be such a hub of the community, that I won’t even try to outline it’s qualities.  That is it’s nature, it is bigger than I, and as far as I am capable of facilitating it’s growth, I will be there. But at this point in my life, the running of a kitchen is something that is now tainted for me with an overall sense of loss. In the attempt to run and guide a kitchen and restaurant, in days past –  I have lost loved ones, I have lost untold amounts of money, I have lost my own credibility and sense of worth. I am not looking for sympathy here, I’m just stating a simple fact.

So – the dream job that I would like to see come to fruition for myself, is that –  of writer. I want to keep this beautiful bit of land, with it’s teensy little house, and I want to make the place shine. I want to make it mine in a way that no one can ever take it away from me, and should anyone ever venture to try, I can put my sawed-off shotty in they face, and be backed by American law in doing so.

I want to be here, in peace, and cook, and write, and somehow make a living off the racket… & I will always be there for the Diner, and for the Crescent Cafe, when ever and where ever they might need me. I’m down. I promise.

But day to day, at this point – I most aspire to just be left alone, with my food and my words. And get drunk before noon if that is what seems most appropriate to me.

Selah.

3 thoughts on “Writer

  1. Pepper says:

    can I come over and dance in the moonlight with you?

  2. Rya says:

    Can you!?! My dear, you are obligated…(prick)!

  3. Pepper says:

    didn’t you just love that story? not only did it make me feel more lovable, but it also made me feel more loving. we all need warmth.

Leave a Reply

