Shroomy

If stranded on a desert island, and could only bring one music album with you, which would it be? What is it about this music that never gets old for you?

Since you are asking me this today, I am going to go with Mark Farina’s Mushroom Jazzvolume one. I am well aware that many beat junkies think that Farina is Top 40 House music (that is a put-down, in case you were wondering), which is fine for them. But Mushroom Jazz has been – throughout the years, a solid standard. A seamless blend of beats, hip-hop, and jazz – & that is just what I like.

I am in a pretty bad mood today, and the fact that I have re-introduced a few of Farina’s tracks (from Mushie volumes 1-5, each of which sport a different, cute little psychedelic mushroom motif…) has possibly saved lives.


One thought on “Shroomy

  1. Rya says:

    Actually, I think I want volume two – if I’m really gonna be stuck with one album for ever… Two is mellower & a bit more polished.

Leave a Reply

