Hopey changey stuff

 

What gives you hope? And what, if anything, makes you question hope? And what makes you question your questions of hope? And…

then you have to start all over again! I think that hope is a lot like music. Sometimes you find a new track, and it’s totally inspiring and transforming, or what have you. But eventually you play it out, which doesn’t mean you aren’t transformed or uplifted…but time and circumstance always seem to find their way in, to nibble at the edges and wear the shiny veneer away.

This house has been a lot like that, so full of hopes and promises, so exiting in terms of future possibilities! But then – I really get tired of my family’s crap, and cleaning up their perpetual messes – but then they go away for a while – & I just get lonely! So with hope, as with family, you have to learn to cut yer losses…

But in honor of MLK Day, here is a quote that I think ties in, not only to hope, but to the history of it’s rising & falling through time:

“A nation that continues year after year to spend more money on military defense than on programs of social uplift is approaching spiritual doom. ”
Martin Luther King, Jr.

Interestingly, today is also the 50 year anniversary of  Ike Eisenhower’s famous address, wherein he coins the term “military industrial complex”, & like King, warns us of becoming obsessed with military spending. Which indeed we have…

This was particularly interesting because Ike was not so much of a peace maker, as he was a highly decorated general. But he knew the score, and was frank enough about it.

So in a broader sense of hope, and to wrangle President Obama back into his stirring call for Hope and Change – I would say that my greatest hope for this country is that we do let go of fear & destruction, and put all of those gazillions of dollars to better use!

Hope on that!

3 thoughts on “Hopey changey stuff

  1. Rya says:

    Footnote – I only knew that bit about Ike (isn’t he the cutest?) thanks to the Rachel Maddow show – so big ups to her, and her crew for being vigilant & timely, as always.

  2. Doris Lucchesi says:

    I actually enjoy most of your blogs but I like this one particularly. I love the metaphor of hope and a music track…I instantly saw hope in a very different light then I ever had before. A great start to my day….thank you!

  3. Rya says:

    Thank YOU for reading! I have gotten pretty off topic from my original intent for the blog, but I am trying to keep on this post-a-day challenge – & with everything going on at work, it’s about all I can do to throw down whatever pops into my head… It’s a fun challenge tho, and I think it’s is a worthy exercise to keep writing, if only for writings sake!
    Peas 🙂

Leave a Reply

