Hungry

What made you decide to start a blog? If you’ve blogged about this before, go back and read it. Is that still the reason? What’s changed?

Ha! Funny you should ask! So I began blogging, here on the Press  – for one of the more cliche reasons known to man. It was because of the movie Julie & Julia.

Yes I read the book – no, I never read the original blog…however, I was still certainly inspired. I loved the story, and I loved the character of Julie Powell and her struggle with turning 30, that definitely resonated. But I’ll admit that above all, I love Meryl Streep (! also now a Gemini!) – and I love getting to know the inner workings of Julia Childs! After the movie was released, just about everyone with a stove and an internet connection started a food blog, and this was shortly followed by a run on Mastering The Art Of French Cooking. I got my copy early from Amazon – & the rest of you are a bunch of suckers!

But my reasoning for the blog went deeper and further back than that. I have been struggling with the loss of my restaurant, for a few years now. Sometimes I think I am done – but as I observed the “Death Day” (a lot like a birth day, but in the opposite direction…) of my friend, neighbor, and business partner Beau Shaver, I was surprised to find that I am still quite emotionally invested. I never got any money for my share of the business, but with some measure of tenacity, I did manage to get out alive with a comprehensive collection of the recipes, as well as an officially drawn up acknowledgment of intellectual property rights, in regard to the photocopied mess.

So the blog was sparked by the movie, but at that point it merely fed the preceding project of compiling the recipes into a cookbook. Then, a gimmick was established, when Pep & I road tripped up to Portland, and on the way back down through Cali, we hatched the concept of creating a blog about the physical being of a kitchen. The tools and gadgets involved in cooking and such, which gave me some forward propulsion, and food for thought, but meanwhile, life moved on.  I got a job, and that eventually took precedent over my ideals of writing and cooking. Lucky for me, said job fed back into a circle of…writing and cooking!

So here I am, more or less documenting the show (day by day, with the new post a day challenge) which overall, I feel feeds into the original intent of  recording what it takes to make good food, with good ingredients – day in and day out!

However, there have been some significant changes. Here, to illustrate my point, is Ophiuchus…

This is our new member of the cast of characters in the Zodiac! It’s offical – and I am apparently now a Gemini

If you haven’t seen it, here’s the new zodiac chart:

Capricorn: Jan. 20-Feb. 16
Aquarius: Feb. 16-March 11
Pisces: March 11-April 18
Aries: April 18-May 13
Taurus: May 13-June 21
Gemini: June 21-July 20
Cancer: July 20-Aug. 10
Leo: Aug. 10-Sept. 16
Virgo: Sept. 16-Oct. 30
Libra: Oct. 30-Nov. 23
Scorpio: Nov. 23-29
Ophiuchus: Nov. 29-Dec. 17
Sagittarius: Dec. 17-Jan. 20

My Dad totally can’t get a grip on being a Sag now… I have always been cuspy tho, so I am transitioning just fine (thanks)…

Point is, the fields shift, indiscernibly, until you are eventually working with a whole new set of rules. It’s not like the topic is gone from the scene, but all the same – in this day & age, you have to be prepared to switch it up a bit!

3 thoughts on “Hungry

  1. That was a wonderful post. I *almost* clicked away when you mentioned Julie and Julia (although that was a great movie)–but you kept me reading and got me hooked. Nice work. =)

    What’s up with this new zodiac stuff? Is there a new standard?

  2. nicoustic says:

    new zodiak is funny thing in this year… right? and my zodiac has been changed from Sagitarius to scorpion..

Leave a Reply

