Accomplishment

I am going to run with the topic o’ the day, right of the bat here, since it resonated…

What’s the single most important thing you accomplished in 2010?

& my answer to that is simple, although is might not be what one might think. I have put a lot of time and energy into creating this new kitchen, which may well be a cornerstone to the future of this little town & community of  ours. Yet it is not my best work.

The thing that I am most proud of, accomplished over the course of this past year – is, the creation and maintenance of this home. The kitchen, glorious and shiny tho it may be, is but a means to an end. The end is home.

I claim a clear title to neither of these works. There were the bosses to finance the kitchen. My father – to foot more than his fare share on rent, and fix things beyond my comprehension. There was Jacqui, who not only found us this house, but also supplied shelter to the mob of us before that… Jacqui who gave me back my Mu! Mu who now remains my only real-time friend, and must not go without mention…

And of course, I would like to thank the Academy.

It really all ends up being the same thing, in the end. Oscar on the mantle-piece, or Mu on the couch – we all need a reason to get up one more time, & do it all again. Again?

Yes, that’s right… Make food, & un-make messes. Sometimes I wonder what would have happened to this world, if it weren’t for me, to clean up after everyone! Nor do I know when my next day off might come, or how many might await me in the month to come. They may be few and far between.

BUT, if I can have my own hot-tub in the back yard (yet to be built), and re-tile the bathroom (one of these years…),  then I’m game.


One thought on “Accomplishment

  1. pepper says:

    damn straight sista! good on ya mate 😉

Leave a Reply

