Revisited ~

Alright – I made it, I’m back.

I just watched Julie & Julia again with my father and my witty sis, Julia – who was named after Mrs. Childs, as well as Julia Roberts, who are both favorites of my mother’s. Ooh! & Eat, Pray, Love will be out this month as well, starring the Roberts…

Anyhow, I was reminded of the original impulse, during the film. Trite though that may be…Julia (my sis) says that everyone starts a blog after seeing the movie/reading the book, which may be true, but I really do feel as though I have stuck this project out long enough to be sincere. Or at least now that I have made it back…

Which was not all that easy, mind you. Getting moved, and getting the internet hooked up were both considerable feats of strength. & in the mean time I have still been working my arse off. Yesterday was the juice bar’s busiest day, to date. Just short of 50 drinks, which might not sound like much, but I assure you, it was. There is a great deal of prep work that goes into making 100% organic, fresh juice!!

So now I am exhausted, but in the best sense of the word. & I have also been cooking, nothing fantastic, but as least I’m getting the ol’ gears oiled up again. I made the standard Aloo Gobi, which I really didn’t even mess up this time, and I made a pasta dish, with sauce from a jar, but like I said, it’s all about getting the ol’ cooking muscles out of their current state of atrophy.

The big hold up now is my general feeling of overwhelm when I look at my surroundings, still so many boxes to be sorted through and dealt with, but it is all out of storage, and if we get these last two shelves refinished and put to work, then I think we will have it mostly under control.

& THEN I can even start getting back to writing, with a bit more conviction. But for now, I am considering all of this blog, thus far, to be but an introduction. The true meat of the project is yet to come, and once I get back on top of my finances, I will be purchasing a Dutch Oven, and I will try my hand at Julia Childs’ Boeuf Bourguignon!

Oui, Ca Va!

Leave a Reply

